[Diaspora] Pravasi Bharatiya Divas 2015 : All you need to know about 13th PBD

The event is also known as ‘Non-Resident Indian Day’ as it marked the return of Mahatma Gandhi from South Africa in the year 1915 on the same day i.e. January 9.
The 13th Pravasi Divas (7-9 January) began at Mahatma Mandir in Gandhinagar, Gujarat. This is the first time that the event is being held in the state.

The theme of the 13th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas 2015 is "100 years of Mahatma Gandhi's return to India from South Africa."
The programme also acknowledges the contribution of Indians living abroad in the development of the country.

The PBD not only helps in networking and building partnerships but also promotes various initiatives related to trade, investment, education, culture, health, emigration, developments and science.

The External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj inaugurated the event and urged the young Indian Diasporas who are arriving in hundreds from countries across the world, to contribute to the initiatives and programs launched by the Government of India.

The President of Guyana, Donald Ramotar, is the chief guest of the 13th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas. The Guyanese President will also be presented the 'Pravasi Bharatiya Samman'.

About Pravasi Bharatiya Samman:
It is the highest honour conferred on overseas Indians. As a part of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD), this award is conferred by the Vice President of India Hamid Ansari on
  • Non-Resident Indian(NRI), Person of Indian Origin (PIO) or
  • An organization or institution established and run by the Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin.
This award carries a bilingual Sanad under the hand and the seal of the President. In addition, it includes a citation, a gold medallion and a miniature of the medallion in the form of a lapel pin.

Recipients of awards are:
  • Satyanarayan Nadella- CEO of tech giant Microsoft.
  • Donald Rabindernauth Ramaotar- He is President of Guyana and awarded for his work for the Indian diaspora in Guyana.
  • Mala Mehta- For her contribution to Hindi language. She is founder of Indo- Australian Bal Bharatiya Vidyalaya in Thornleigh suburb in Sydney. Since its establishment, she has been pursuing the growth of Hindi in Australia.
  • Rajaram Sanjaya- He is India-born Mexican scientist. He is winner of the ‘2014 World Food Prize’ for developing 480 wheat varieties that have been released in 51 countries.
  • Kanwaljit Singh Bakhshi- He is Member of Parliament (MP) from New Zealand. He is also known for work he had done for the Indian diaspora in New Zealand.
  • Essop Goolam Pahad- He is a South African politician. He was Minister in the Presidency from 1999 to September 2008 in South Africa.
  • Mahendra Nanji Mehta- Uganda-based businessman of Indian origin.
  • Professor Nathuram Poori- He is founder of Purico Group are also chosen for their contribution to Indian diaspora.
  • Lord Raj Lumba- He is a philanthropist and founder of clothing company Rinku Group. He is a Liberal Democrat member of the House of Lords, United Kingdom.
  • Kamlesh Lulla- He is chief scientist for Earth observation in the Human Exploration Science Office at the Johnson Space Centre at NASA. He has named for the award for his exceptional service to the space science.
  • Nandini Tandon- She has been given this award for her work in life sciences and Healthcare and IT in USA and India along with other emerging markets.
  • Rajmal Parakh
  • Duraikannu Karunakaran
  • Shah Bharatkumar Jayantilal
  • Ashraf Palarkunnummal

No comments:

Post a Comment